Sign in with
Your question

A8V-X Memory Problem

Last response: in Motherboards
February 21, 2009 4:42:38 AM

Hey all,

I am having a little problem with my Asus A8V-X motherboard. I have been running this board for about 7 months now with no problems what so ever. However I just recently purchased some more memory for my computer to hopefully get a little more performance increase and to ger ready for the Windows 7 release. here is my computer specs:

Motherboard: Asus A8V-X
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 +3700 2.5ghz socket 939
Memory: 4gb (1gb x4) OCZ Platinum PC3200
Graphics Card: 512mb Saphhire Radeon HD3850 agp
Sound Card: VIA Envy24HF
Hard Drives: 200gb/(2x)500gb Western Digital 7200rpm 8mb cache IDE and 500gb Seagate USB External
Power Supply: Thermaltake 450watt TR2 RX Cable Management W0146RU

I had 2gb of memory before and just bought another 2gb kit. I know that Windows XP will only recongize 3gb of it, and it does. But my issue is that my bios only says that there is 3gb useable. If I open my Asus Probe via windows it detects that there is a 1gb stick in all four ram slots. My manual says that my motherboard supports 4gb of ram. (note that less then 3gb might be detected with running Windows XP 32bit). So my question is, it this just saying 3gb in the bios cause my motherboard recognizes that I have a 32bit OS on my computer or will this motherboard only use 3gb of ram? I ask becuase if it will only use 3gb, I might return it since I will have 1gb ram that is useless. My bios is up to date and everything like that as well. Any help/suggestions with this would be awesome! Thanks guys!

Chris Stickles

More about : a8v memory problem

February 21, 2009 4:43:28 AM

Hey all,