Sign in with
Your question

Expert advice needed on new home build!

Last response: in Systems
October 22, 2008 9:17:29 AM

Hey everybody,

I'm a newbie computer builder and I'm wanting to put together my first home built workstation. I'm looking at playing a few high end games including flight sim x which I own but have not been able to play on my current laptop, and also doing some video/sound/picture editing as well as general home PC stuff. I'm looking to build a system that's upper mid range with the capability to upgrade later on when money allows.

I'd really appreciate some feedback on my component choices and some guidance on any changes I should make.

Here are the specs...

- Coolermaster 690 ATX Mid tower case
- Corsair 750w PSU
- Intel E8500 CPU
- Asus P5Q Deluxe Mobo
- Corsair DDR2 800 4GB Kit
- Sapphire ATI 4850 Graphics Card
- Zalman CNPS9700 CPU Cooler
- WD 500GB Cavier HDD (OS + Apps)
- Seagate 640 GB HDD (Data etc)
- Pioneer DVD writer
- Samsung 2253BW LCD Monitor
- Vista 64 bit
- Logitech Z2300 Speakers

What do you think? A good all round system or are there some week points?

Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Nic Harris - New Zealand
October 22, 2008 9:24:48 AM

do you already have a sound card? because those speakers actually will benefit for having a distinct sound card
October 22, 2008 9:39:20 AM

You've made a number of good choices and you are on the right track, but you'll want to make some changes.

For my convenience, I've made this post that will give you some good ideas:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/257075-31-what-parts-...

Basically you could downgrade to a P5Q-E
Change RAM
Change the CPU cooler
Use the WD 640GB for both drives

my reasoning is in the other thread ;) 
Related resources
October 22, 2008 2:06:47 PM