Sign in with
Your question

Help needed! Build Dual Xeon Quad for Molecular Simulation

Last response: in Systems
October 23, 2008 7:00:05 AM

Hi, all

I am planning to build a dual Xeon Quad Core for my research in molecular simulation. i.e. I want to have 8 cores totally. For the job I am doing, I will some parallel calculations (using 4 cores at the same time with communications among the cores), but most of the time, I may be just running several jobs (like 7 or 8 different cases) on different cores, each taking 10 hrs to 100 hrs to run). Other information:

1. I am a student with limited office space, so buying 2 computers, each with a Quad Core is not good for me. I don't want to have two computers either since then I need to compile my code on two computers.
2. CD-ROM, Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse is not necessary. The department has some old ones I can use.
3. Some visualization is necessary but the quality not very essential (Only used when I visualize my computation results for presentation).
4. The I/O during the computation is moderate, about 50 to 100 MB per hour for each job / case.
5. I am buying this with my own money, not a funding ... so I have a very limited budget. You know ... graduate student is not a real job and the paycheck is tiny.

Before posting this message, I have read this thread in detail:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/251101-28-build-dual-...

Particularly, the reply by Turas was VERY VERY helpful. According to what is stated there I have researched extensively (with google...) and here is my setup. Please give me some suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated!!
I am building the system according to Dell Precision T7400

http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.asp...

1. Motherboard
Asus DSAN-DX Server Motherboard - Dual Socket 771, Intel 5100, Asus PIKE Ready, 1333/1066/800MHz FSB, Reg ECC RAM, PCIe x16, SATA II RAID, VGA
$335 (tigerdirect)

2. CPU (Two *Xeon E5420)