Solved

Overclocking AMD Phenom II X4 955

Last response: in Overclocking
February 18, 2010 4:31:44 PM

Following is my configuration:

Processor : AMD Phenom 955 3.2 Ghz
RAM: Transcend 3 GB DDR3 1333 Mhz
CPU Cooler: Stock cooler with MX-2 applied

I want to overclock my processor to 3.4 Ghz but since i'm a noob at overclocking i'll need a step by step process. One thing is that my processor shows a temperature of 43celcius on idle and goes till 55 celcius on load. So i'm worried if the temp will go higher due to overclocking and i dont want to fry my CPU...plz help.....thanks in advance
a b K Overclocking
February 18, 2010 4:53:07 PM

Going from the stock 3.2 GHz. to 3.4GHz. is just a matter of changing one BIOS setting - (the CPU multiplier) up by 1 from 15 to 16 - so is a very easy thing to do and should not effect the temp by more than 1-2C.

What MOBO do you have as the BIOS on the MOBO will determine exactly what needs to be done and what the settings are called. but the process is mainly to enter the BIOS settings find the settings for the CPU multiplier and change it from auto to manual and set the multiple at x16 instead of the current x15 - save the change and let the system boot.
February 18, 2010 5:34:14 PM

JDFan said:
Going from the stock 3.2 GHz. to 3.4GHz. is just a matter of changing one BIOS setting - (the CPU multiplier) up by 1 from 15 to 16 - so is a very easy thing to do and should not effect the temp by more than 1-2C.

What MOBO do you have as the BIOS on the MOBO will determine exactly what needs to be done and what the settings are called. but the process is mainly to enter the BIOS settings find the settings for the CPU multiplier and change it from auto to manual and set the multiple at x16 instead of the current x15 - save the change and let the system boot.

I have a gigabye GA-MA788GMT-UD2H
Related resources

Best solution

February 18, 2010 6:15:34 PM