Am I choosing well? E8500

G

I'm ready to buy today. I do photography for a living and and I process LOTS of images from 2 1Ds cameras.

I picked E8500 due to excellent benchmarks here PLUS ability to OC ! I only use Photoshop (w Genuine Fractal Print Pro interpolator - a PS plug-in).

Given my work and current pricing, is E8500 my best choice?

Also who has best pricing?

pr2thej

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2008
gahh damn you!!! beat me to it :D

Q6600 is about a tenner cheaper here in the UK and it can be easily clocked to 3GHz. Will pwn the E8500 in photoshop.

The_Blood_Raven

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2008
The Q6600 will outperform the E8500 in most everything and if you set it to 3.4 Ghz+ it will scream. That said you could save some money and get an E5200 which will overclock the same as an E8500 and only costs $80. I know that Photoshop is not all that quadcore optimized, but it will be in time.

G

Photoshop CS2
Genuine Fractal PrintPro5
Old PageMaker (rarely but needed)

The_Blood_Raven

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2008
At the least it will do the same as a dualcore. Maybe a little slower, but if a program only uses 1-2 cores you still have 2 others meaning that the 1-2 cores the software is using can be completely dedicated to that software and nothing else, this gives a performance boost that most don't realize. This is coming from a guy that still uses a dualcore so I'm not biased like some others are when this question pops up... The quad is better trust us. That said you could save a lot of money on an E5200 so it is all up to you. (The E5200 is the same as an E8500 just with slightly less cache which wont actually make a difference, yet it generally overclocks better too.) It is all up to you, you spend your money so you should get what you want.

G

Im considering quad based on expert comments here. s Intel pricing the same everywhere ? Who has the best price in a Q6600?

cadder

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2008