Sign in with
Your question

Will Prolimatech Megahalems fit?

Last response: in Overclocking
February 19, 2010 12:35:45 PM

Im a noob at cpu cooler so asking for advice. From looking at many cpu reviews, Prolimatech Megahalems rev.b seems to be the best cpu for the price. Do you know if this cooler and a hd5870 fit a antec 900/902 or CM storm scout well?
A noob question. Do I need to buy a fan for the Prolimatech Megahalems or is it fine just by itself? I seen people using one or two on theirs.
February 20, 2010 8:08:32 PM

It should fit, and it doesn't come with a fan. You probably need one but it does depend on what your cooling, you probably don't need two though.

The megahalem is by all means NOT the best cooler for the price, are core conact freezer or a scythe mugen or a cooler master hyper 212 are.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
February 21, 2010 7:40:43 AM

The Scythe Mugen will not allow for a side for in an Antec 902, but the 5870 will have to go a non-HDDless spot. I would opt for the cheaper coolers unless you're looking to OC an i7 past 4ghz.
m
l
Related resources
February 26, 2010 4:57:01 AM

yeah the 5970 had to go to a non hddless spot on my CM centrio 5 case. So I should go for a cheaper cooler like scythe, core contact, hyper 212, then the prolimatech megahalem?
m
l
a b K Overclocking
March 4, 2010 4:03:52 AM

also you have to realize this thing is big so it might not fit in your case if its narrow so dont do like my friend did buy a core contact freeze and then have to get a case to fit the heatsink in. pretty sure the one your looking at is 150mm plus tall. to lazy to look it up
m
l
March 4, 2010 11:14:52 AM

mattidallama said:
also you have to realize this thing is big so it might not fit in your case if its narrow so dont do like my friend did buy a core contact freeze and then have to get a case to fit the heatsink in. pretty sure the one your looking at is 150mm plus tall. to lazy to look it up

Just to piggy back on your reply,