Sign in with
Your question

First timer: tips for system assembly?

Last response: in Systems
October 28, 2008 4:29:03 PM

This will be my first system build--I have little experience other than switching out my graphics card, adding RAM, etc. on my Dell. My uses will be gaming (gaming res is usually 1024x768) as well as photo-editing (at higher resolutions). I want the ability to OC. I'm pretty confident in the following components, based on input from these forums:

• Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 - OEM
  • GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45
  • WD Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
  • SAPPHIRE 100259-1GL Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported – Retail
  • CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC - Retail
  • ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail
  • SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 22X DVD-R 16X DVD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 22X DVD±R with LightScribe - OEM
  • Mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
  • Antec Nine Hundred Chassis
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit English for System Builders 1pk DSP OEI DVD - OEM

• Since this is my first build, I'm wondering if anyone can give me any tips on best practices for the actual assembly of the components. Any tools, tricks, words of wisdom, etc. that I should live by? Also, I'd love any feedback on the above based on my stated uses.

Thanks!
    October 28, 2008 4:56:06 PM

It's a good build. I would use one of the more heavy duty CPU coolers to OC that quad though.

There was a .org site that had all sorts of good assembly advice... let me see if I can find it.
    October 28, 2008 4:56:34 PM