P-II X4 965 Safe OC Limits?

someguynamedmatt

Distinguished
Well, I'm relatively new to the world of overclocking, and I've got a few easy questions I figure I'll ask before I keep on going.

Right now, I've got a brand new MSI 790fx-GD70 Motherboard with an AMD Phenom II x4 965 BE Processor being cooled by a Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer. Right now, it's overclocked to 3.96ghz using an x18 multiplier and a 220mhz FSB speed. I was just wondering if there is a limit to where I should stop increasing my FSB speed, or if there is a better, more efficient way to OC the processor than this.
Any input would be appreciated.
-Matt

sailer

Splendid
If you've managed a stable 3.96ghz, you're doing something right. I have a 955 BE on a Crossfire 3 board and can only run a little over 3.6ghz stable 24/7 while folding. Heat is the big problem. I can go higher, but things start getting too hot for my comfort.

Anyway, increasing the FSB also increases the ram speed. That requires more voltage to sustain, and increases the heat from the ram as well. I have not been able to go over a FSB of 220 myself without getting some instability or heat problems from the ram. Altering the cpu/ram speed ratios will help with the problem, but then you give up a bit of performance with the ram.

I've personally found raising the multiplier on my AMD machines as the best route for overclocking. Others will have different experiences using different hardware, no doubt. But for now, if you're able to run your 965 BE under load and stable at 3.96ghz, I think you're doing pretty good and just about at the limit, maybe a bit above it. For more info, here's an Anandtech article:

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3619
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3619&p=9

As you might notice, Anandtech ran into a wall at about 4ghz, so you're about there now. You might get a bit higher, but its rather questionable.

someguynamedmatt

Distinguished