Angelsadin

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2008
I'm soon building a rig with expense of $2.5k-2.7k for Gaming and intermediate Video Editing.

Case:
Antec 1200- im guessing air cooling with a thermal elec. cooler for cpu and many powerful fans... Hurray Vacuum PC!! -_- im too scared of watercooling since im a beginner.

PSU:
SilverStone 1200W for later upgrades

Mobo:
Asus P5E64 Evolution

CPU:
Q9650

Memory:
G. Skill 4Gb DDR3 1600 maybe 8GB

Video:
Sapphire Radeon 4870 1GB

Any helpful opinions?

Zecow

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008
with TEC, you have other issues to worry about: Condensation. You will still need a radiator for your TEC :p
Why would you need a 1200w? Thats an over kill.
4870x2 crossfire with quadcore and 2 HDD draws max load 650w @ 80% effeciency.
The rest looks ok.

Zecow

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008
Air? lol
To be honest, if its done correctly and patiently.. they are all safe.
How far are you going to OC your CPU? If you're going to run stock settings, a Thermalright Extreme 120 can do a good job using a good TIM.

I had 2 rigs WCed already - never experienced any leaks. ok, during the leak test, yeah, but my pc was not on.. only the pump - leave it on for 12 hours. Once its secured... I'm off gaming on my new rig. Never even bothered with worrying about leaks. tubes are secure and are working well.

TEC.. you still need a radiator as it dispense alot of heat, so you will need something to cool it off - thats where the rad comes in plus with the temp differences, you get condensation. Again, there are methods to solve the issue, but i'm not experienced with TEC so I can't say.

arson94

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2008
It's not the watts you have to worry about when you crossfire two 4870X2's, it's the amperage. But I've yet to be able to find any documentation of how many amps a 4870X2 draws and I'd love to know.