Problems getting past 3.8GHz on 965BE

theperfectshot

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2010
Hello, I'm still new to over-clocking and am in need of some help. I read in multiple forums of ppl getting 4.2GHz stable on air cooling no problem. I would like to hit the 4GHz mark myself and cant seem to get past 3.8GHz. I have tried to up my voltages and still cant get it stable. Also, i bought some G.SKILL memory and it is said to run at 2000MHz at 9-9-9-27 and i cant seem to get it past 1600MHz. I went to the MSI website and bought this ram bc it was one of the ones they recommended. The MOBO supports up to 2133MHz. if anyone can give me some suggestions on where to start it would be appreciated. I have overclocked one other computer b4 but the MOBO was crap and so i decided to just update everything at once.

schwizer

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2010
I am also hitting a wall with my memory around 1700MHz with a 965BE and 2s2GB of patriot ram rated for 2000MHz. I suspect it might have something to do with the memory controller integrated on the 965BE itself.

loneninja

Distinguished
Not all Phenom II can hit 4.0, it's really hit or miss on how well your particular chip overclocks. Is your Phenom 965 the C2 or C3 stepping? C3 stepping tends to clock a little higher, and is more likely to reach/exceed 4.0Ghz.

Unless I'm mistaken, the Phenom II memory controller can only support up to DDR3 1600, that would explain why your memory won't run any faster.

theperfectshot

Distinguished
Feb 24, 2010