Sign in with
Your question

Boy do I need HELP

Last response: in Systems
October 31, 2008 10:39:26 AM

Just put my system together today, and it does not work. Been buying parts for the last 6 month and finally got them all. I guess this was not a smart way too do it because some of the stuff is out dated already, but shouls be a OK machine.
1- Antec case 5550 watt PS
2- Gigaybe GA-P35-DS3L Board
3- Evga 8600 GTS Video card
4- Corsair XMS2 4-4-4-12-800 mhs memory
5- Seagate Barracuda Hard Drive
6- Intel Q9650 cpu
When I start the machine it turns on but I get no video signal,I think it going in bois because the dvd drive lights up for a few seconds.I sure I have all the wires hooked up, I am no expert but should I get bois showing up on boot up. Money is a issure not so I just don't know what too do. Should I get a cheap pci video card too see if that is the problem. Please give me a lot of advice on this problem, Thanks Guys

More about : boy

October 31, 2008 11:13:46 AM

Try to get the BIOS up, usually means hitting the Delete key or something (I have to hit both of them or something) and just make sure that it sees everything like the CD Drive and the Hard drive etc. Make sure it can see it all, after that all I can say is check the wiring, when I loaded my PC as I put it upright one of the wires came lose and I had to reopen it so just check it all. That's all the help I am I'm afraid. Good luck :) 
October 31, 2008 11:20:38 AM

That motherboard may need a BIOS update to boot a 45 nm CPU, not sure but if someone else will confirm that then you need to put an older CPU in there, flash the BIOS, and then put the new chip in
Related resources
October 31, 2008 11:34:31 AM

notherdude said:
That motherboard may need a BIOS update to boot a 45 nm CPU, not sure but if someone else will confirm that then you need to put an older CPU in there, flash the BIOS, and then put the new chip in