Help Needed, Intel ICH7 Chip becomes very hot [Asus P5kpl-Am]

TaBaC

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009
Hi Guys !
I'm not an expert, but neither a newbie. the last week i bought 5 Asus P5KPL-AM Motherboards for my office. Currently I'm experiencing great performance. here is my combination :

CPU : Intel E5200 (65 Watt)
Mobo:Asus P5KPL-AM
RAM : Kingston 1GB 800MHz (10 Watt)
HDD : 160 GB Sata 7200RPM (25 Watt)
VGA : Intel G31 (8MB) Onboard (~35 watt)
SoundCard : Onboard (~10 Watt)
PSU 300Watt (75% efficiency -> 225)
------------------------------------------------------------------
less than 200Watt Power Usage

as you can see i'm quit sure that i've chosen the right PSU for my system. But the problem is that the Intel ICH7 Controller chip which is at the right bottom of the motherboard and next to the cmos battery, becomes so hot, that i can't hold my finger for 10secs on the heat sink ! i really don't have any idea why it becomes so hot.
i disabled from the BIOS the USB ports, serial and com ports, but still hot. i disabled the onboard audio device either, but no difference.

no voltage is adjusted(overclocking), updated to the latest BIOS version.

i called the support vendor of this motherboard in my country, he told me "as long as you don't have any trouble with this motherboard, nothing can be fixed and this is a normal situation" ! :pt1cable:

i know this temperature will darken the back color of this part of the mobo, and maybe they will tell me in the future that guarantee is void therefor.

Is it really a normal situation ? Any idea ????

TaBaC

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009
thanks for your reply, here are my bios temperature listed in the bios :

Temperature (Celsius scale)

Cpu : 30-36 degree
MotherBoard : 28-32 Degree

i'll be on vacation tomorrow, but will post the results in the next 48 hours.

TaBaC

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009
hi again,
unfortunately, speedfan was unable to measure the temperature of the chip, it listed the system temp and the cpu cores temp....