Asus P6T Delux ram issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

beachbum

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009
First, while I am new to this, I am not so new to building my own computers. I just purchased an Asus P6T Delux motherboard, with an I7. Simple enough. It does not matter if I follow the recommended mem installation, when I have all 6 banks filled only 8gigs are show in the bios. If I remove one black DDR3 from DIMM A2 (BLACK), bios now sees 10gigs. Replace A2 again, and I get 8gigs. I have tried several configurations, and I still have the same problem. Yes I flashed the bios, so I am running the newest bios. Now here is the crazy part. If I check my little utility CPU-Z, it shows 12 gigs when all the banks are full, but the bios then shows 8gigs. Yes all of the ram has been tested, and they all work fine.

Memory Type: Dual Channel DDR3

Memory Speed: 1333MHz PC10600

Memory CAS Latency: 7-7-7-20

I know several people have had the same problem with Asus P6T Delux. I love the board. I have always used Asus with no problems what so ever. If this is a know problem, should I just purchase the Asus Rampage? You thoughts please, and be kind.

Thanks.

AtaliaA1

Distinguished
Feb 22, 2009
If your program sees all of your ram, and Windows Vista sees all of your ram. Where is the problem. the x58 MB are best used with three banks of ram not four. a Latency issue.

beachbum

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2009