OC software

mokuj1m

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2009
i'm a newbie at OC'ing a PC, could u guys suggest the best OC software which is either simple to use n reliable. Since i'm afraid to OC from the bios, really dont have the experience at all :(
here's my spec:

E7300@2.66ghz

2x2gb@667mhz

9800GT 512mb

500 watt psu

btw i'm gonna use the stock cooler, so what do u guys suggest for highest clock that I should use safely
actually i would like if it can reach at least 3ghz, how bout that?

thanks n regards

pr2thej

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2008
Definitely stick to the BIOS overclocking. Theres loads of guides and references all over the web, including our very own Overclocking forum here!
Its always advisable to read through the relevant stickies as mi1ez says and come back with specific questions rather than a generic "how do i OC xxxx".#

You are afraid of the BIOS because you dont understand it, simple as that. You can do no damage by looking at the options available to you, and googling what it will change. As long as you dont select to Save and Exit then you will do no damage.

With stock cooler, you can shoot for a max of about 3.3GHz i believe so aim for that.

mokuj1m

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2009
sorry to bother again :p
i try SetFSB now, but not really sure how to use it
so basically i just need to slide the fsb right? n then click the set FSB?
much thanks

pr2thej

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2008
Nono dont jump straight in like that.

For a starter you need the correct software to Diagnose / Monitor / Test your PC.

Diagnosis: CPU-Z, Sisandra
Monitor: Speedfan, Coretemps
Test: Memtest, Prime95, Futuremarks

As examples.

You also need to understand the component you are overclocking. Whats its stock settings? Whats its Max? Whats its safe operating range? Whats its current temps at idle and under load? What can you achieve with stock cooling? What revision/stepping chip do you have?