In hell with dell XPS 400 CPU upgrade help a noob in need!

Leetgeek

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2009
Hey all I'm a PC noob but I know a little bit. I have a dell XPS 400 I bought in June 2006

http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/xps_400?c=us&cs=28&l=en&s=dfb

So I noticed the the processor was bottlenecking performance it's a pentium D 2.8/2.78 with only 2 mb of ram. I already upgraded this thing with 4 gigs of system ram, Geforce 8600 GT GC. And I went ahead and upgraded to Vista (what a crap os).

Anyway I talked to dell about which processor I should upgrade to and they recomended:
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/products/Processors/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=A0816663

Core 2 Quard Q6600.

I had actually wanted a more powerful CPU I spied on Newegg but she said no that the Q6600 was the type I needed for my MOBO which is is a Mitac-designed, BTX-compatible board based on the Intel® 945P chipset.

So I get the processsor, had a tech savy friend instal and guess what: the comp doesnt even boot. I just get a orange light. The Bios is updated and the chip fits in perfect. Dell support didn't know what to do in fact they seemed more nooby then me! Currently running on the old CPU reinstalled works fine.

PLease Gods of Toms hardware tell me what to do sell the Dell and buy a new comp? I'd really love to avoid the hassle of rebuilding a new PC when I have one that was supposed to be on the higher end. I never would have paid $1500 for this thing if I didn't think I would be able to upgrade the CPU. Any advice? Thanks!!

pr2thej

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2008
Just RMA the chip back to Dell and put the money towards a custom build :D
Everyone here will tell you pretty much the same, its not worth investing anything in a Dell rig.

Leetgeek

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2009