Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Complete newbie in need of assistance.

Last response: in Overclocking
March 1, 2010 10:43:48 PM

Greetings to everyone, ** i'm not sure if i had to create a separate thread for the ram questions.. hope it's 'ok' for asking in the CPUs section**

So, i recently got this awesome(for me at least) PC and i must admit that i'm not really into technical stuff and overclocking so it would be lovely if someone can give me some tips and answer some questions of paranoid nature for me.

Okay, so my system:

Mobo: Intel DX58SO
CPU: Intel core i7-920
RAM: Kingston Hyper-x series KHX1600C9D3K3/6GX (in short 6gb of ddr3 ram)
GPU: Nvidia GTX 295

Now, got a mix of questions regarding the CPU and my RAM.. First of all let me say that i got a case with pretty good air flow, the silverstone raven RV01.. now my first question is: Is it safe to OC my CPU(to like 3GHz) with its stock cooling?Same question would be for my RAM.

Also, i'm using intels Desktop control center at the moment - uploaded some pictures so you can get the idea:
Processor - http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m118/murinus/Proc.pn...
RAM - http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m118/murinus/Ram.png

So, processor looks okay and all.. but i don't know what to increase etc
As for the memory.. even i can see that something is clearly wrong here, according to kingstons site.. my ram runs @ 1600 and the timings are 9 9 9 27 and memory voltage @ 1.65v :??: 
but as you can see it currently runs @ 1066 and timings are set to 8 8 8 19 and 1.54v .. a little confused here :(  now either the guy that set my PC up did something wrong or i'm mistaken and the settings are fine.
*Don't have much faith in the guy that configured my PC, some time ago i realized that my intel SSD was not in AHCI mode and i had to set it myself(it got like +20% in performance after doing so).

My very last question is a more general one: