need advice on somewhat complex build

xleo

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2008
Hi!

I am a soon to graduate IT student who likes to mess with everything related to IT, so I do not have one need but my needs change from time to time depending on general mood and circumstance but I also have some specific goals.

Some of my usage:
1)Digital photography and image processing of RAW formats, so that means working with 10Mb + photos at a time or bunch of them at a time.

2) Some video editing and rendering

3) Dual boot xp sp 3 with bunch of linix distros (not sure if its a feasable solution to have a separate harddisk for my linux messing around with distros and booting from that different drive whenever I am going to mess around with linux. That way I keep my linux distros testing seperate from my windows xp and ubuntu dual boot process.

4) Running tests of VOIP/WEB servers with linux.

5) Gaming

So I was thinking of having a Solid State Disk as my main boot drive for my XP where gaming and processing is occurring, having 2 separate disks with RAID 1 as my permanent storage space for backed up photos etc. And an extra drive either for testing of linux distros or general space that isnt as important as permanent.

My main delima is I use mac os x religiously for my day to day activities but found that I use a bunch of software and games that I cannot use on my mac. So Im not sure if its worth it to just save up for a Mac Pro or build an over clocked quad core. Or If I should wait for Corei7 prices to go down.

But my main question and forgive me if Im repeating what I mentioned above, but is it feasible to have a separate hardisks working with RAID 1 while I have others that are not.

-EDIT- budget can be anywhere from 800-1600

Also anybody have any experiences with SSD's

thanks!

leo

slomo4sho

Distinguished