Is my existing PSU up to powering my new build? Second opinion please!

Hi everyone,

I would like to reuse the case and PSU from an existing build in a new build. The case is a Antec Sonata 3 with 120mm fan and Earthwatts 500W PSU (EA500).

The spec for the EA500 is here;

http://www.antec.com/usa/productDetails.php?lan=us&id=27500

I'm a complete newbie at this but I have been trying to read as much as I can understand about PSUs - including the very long, insightful post in this forum. From what I could gather from that, I'm guessing the EA500 is still a decent little PSU? It even has some redeeming features like 2 PCI-e connectors and the ability to deliver it's full rated power 24 hours a day at 50degC.

The wattage calculator provided on Antec's website suggests my components need between 343 - 393W depending on whether I install a HD4850 or HD4870 graphics card and if I alllow for an extra SATA HDD for future expansion. I know these caluclators are of limited use but at least it's a guidline. In the calculator, I allowed for '90% system load' and '20% capacitor aging'.

So the rest of the components are;

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
CPU: Intel E8400 Core2Duo @ 3.0GHz
RAM: G.SKILL DDR2-800 PC2-6400 CL4 (2 x 2GB)
VIDEO: ATI HD4850 or HD4870 (former the most likely)
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue 640GB SATAII 16MB
Optival Drive: 1 x LG Super Multi Blue GGW-H20L
PCI-e TV Tuner Card (antenna)
Front Bay Card Reader
Allowance for 4 USB devices

Would anyone advise against using the EA500 PSU to power the above system?

As far as the future is concerned, I did NOT allow for any overclocking but with a spare 100W or so, surely there is room for me to learn? Or to Crossfire a pair of HD850s?

Sorry if I've been a bit long-winded - any advice or opinions gratefully received.

Ta,

Andy
4 answers Last reply
More about existing powering build opinion please
  1. For a single video card setup, you should be ok. Try your old one first.
  2. Thanks o1die!