Sign in with
Your question

Noob needs help with Megahalem purchase

Last response: in Overclocking
March 5, 2010 4:46:50 PM

Hi people in Tomshardware.

Noob here.

Thinking about getting me a promlitech megahalem coz I hear and read they are great. I need to get rid of my CM V8 because it has been bent in transit (thanks to idiot parcel force, who deny it).

I have had my system built for me, but I think it high time to learn for myself how to install stuff into my rig, a sentiment I am sure you guys agree with.

Now, with this megahalem, I hear you can install two fans on either side to give a push/pull effect, which sounds good.

My question is, where do I plug these into on the motherboard?

I have a rampage II extreme, and as far as I can tell, everything is booked up. There's the cpu fan connector , which I am guessing the megahalem itself will plug into. There are then 3 chassis fan connectors, which are fully taken by the front, top and side chassis fans of my Cooler Master HAF 932 case. All that is left are the three optional fan connectors on the motherboard. Can the megahalem fans go here?

I'm beginning to feel this is a ridiculuous question to ask; please don't be angered by my noobishness.

Thanks for any advice,
a b K Overclocking
March 8, 2010 11:13:44 PM

the megahalem does not come with a fan from what i have read so the first fan you get can go in the cpu fan slot. unless your overclocking your computer i dont think you will need a second fan at all. if you plan on adding a second fan you could get a 4 pin fan so that you can connect it straight to the psu.
March 9, 2010 12:58:45 AM