Sign in with
Your question

Hanging - how to track down the problem

Last response: in Systems
November 6, 2008 9:26:22 PM

So here's my sob story. After a decade of tinkering with prebuilts, replacing every part but the kitchen sink (er processor), I felt comfortable enough to try to pick and choose my pieces separately and build a system from scratch. Mind you, I am not a gamer, I'm a computer vision engineer, so my heavy use is Visual Studio and Matlab. So I picked out my parts:

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
core 2 quad q6600
4GB (2 X 2GB, Dual Channel) PC2-6400 DDR2 800Mhz 240Pin (don't have it here to check brand)
Inno3D Geforce 8600 GT 512mb HDCP+HDTV Sli PCiE
Hitachi 500GB SATA2 U300 7200rpm 16MB
A-Power 500W

Seemed pretty compatible, worked pretty well, occasional half-second hang, until the video crapped out. In a weird way, too. If I changed the monitor, it worked on first boot, but never again. Changed video card, worked first boot, not again. Plugged the monitor into DVI instead of VGA, worked first two boots. Taking pieces out and putting them back in didn't fix it. I was able to test the video card into another box at work, so that wasn't the problem. Note that the mobo doesn't have integrated video (I overlooked this upon purchase as I assumed it did and didn't read for that carefully). Any tips on this would be appreciated, but that's not my current problem.

I went ahead and purchased a new motherboard:
ECS EliteGroup G31T-M V1.0 ECS Mainboard
Kinda cheap, but at least it has onboard video. I can boot into windows, but I get severe 1-3 minute hangs almost immediately until it completely stops responding. I'm just running on onboard video so far, I'll plug in the video card when I get something stable. Any ideas on what to do? I don't want to just keep throwing money into it until something works, and I don't have a lot of compatible extra parts to swap around to see what works.

For quick reference on the parts' specs: