Your question

Buildin a Hybrid Gaming and Editing Machine

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
November 8, 2008 8:27:32 PM

Hello everybody i am new to this forums , not for the tom's hardware website but to the community yes :) .

So anyway i love videogames A LOT (Hardcore gamer here) i don't play much console nowadays so i am sticking with the PC games , and also i am a graphic design student so i tend to use programs such as Photoshop CS3 , Adobe Premier , Sony Vegas , Maya (just learning now) but i am still no professional, just average in the editing stuff so i think i don't need to much power in that area .

SO that said i came up with the idea to build a new system mostly for the Gaming needs (love fps Crysis , Far Cry , TF2 ,HL2 ,etc...) , my old PC is kinda 2 years or more already so its getting pretty hard to play some new games , my video card its having a lot of problems , lots of sudden shut downs so i am kinda desperate to make a new system . So aside from all the PC drama i am gonna say what i came up too, and what advice do i need from you guys ;)  in building this new system.

The system i have in mind for now:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 or Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
Ge force 280x gt x 1024 or 8800 gt Ge force SLI mode (the 512 MB one cause i cant find the 1024 model in common online stores)
4 GB Ram (2x 2b) (DDR2 or DDR 3 and what MHz ? not sure)

My Budget for now : 1250$

The advice i need from you is:

*Should it be wise to get ddr2 or dd3 on this times, and what speed number would be best (1600,1333,1066,etc...)?
*What kind of motherboard would be good for this system.(I have no idea of what motherboard to pick cause of the PCI Express Slots , Pins slot,etc...)?
*What general cooling system would you recommend (the PC wont be on a place with air conditioner so Ambient Temperature is 27 Cº Average) (I'm very noobish with cooling systems BTW :(  i just keep adding cheap fans and never get good temps :_( )