Constant restarts - out of ideas

Whateley

Distinguished
Mar 29, 2006
I've recently updated my PC with the following hardware:

- QuadCore Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
- 2x Corsair Dominator 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM
- Asus P5Q Deluxe

At the same time, I installed Windows Vista 64-bit, instead of the XP I'd use before.
The trouble started when I started playing games - the computer would restart itself all of a sudden. I've tried several games (Far Cry 2, Fallout 3, Red Alert 3), and they all cause the computer to restart. Sometimes I can play for about 2 hours, other times it happens within 5 minutes.
It doesn't happen when I'm just using windows or surfing the net.

After a bit of trial and error (and several restarts) I noticed the temperatures for the four cores were way too high - two of them reached around 90C while playing games.
I quickly bought and installed a new CPU-cooler (Zalman CNPS 9700NT), and the temperatures are fine now.

This didn't fix the restarting problem however.
I've tried fiddling around with drivers for my bios (my bios is now updated to latest v. 1406) and GPU.
I've formatted my drive and installed XP Professional 32-bit, but the problem's still there. Windows event viewer only says, that the game I'd been playing suddenly stopped.
I've tried running the games with only one block of ram, and then the other, and moving them to different slots, but it still happens.

I haven't seen my GPU's temperature rise above 79C, and from what I can understand that's acceptable..? Also, the card is a few months old and haven't caused any problems before.

I'm am not overclocking in any way.

I'm at my wits end here - I'm having a hard time finding the problem, since I've upgraded so much all at once.

Could my CPU have been permanently damaged from the heat? ... as I said, the temperature's fine now, but it did get pretty hot several times before I noticed it.

Any ideas would be appreciated - thanks in advance!

My specs are: