Sign in with
Your question

Please help. New pc. Same price. Better deal? Gateway vs iBuyPower

Last response: in CPUs
February 5, 2009 8:23:35 PM

I am not in a hurry to buy a computer, but I've been looking at both of these:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/ite...

They're both $699, but I don't know enough about all the technical details to know which is better.

basic comparison:
640gb space vs 500gb space
GeForce 9800GT vs GeForce 9600GT
Athlon X2 6000+ Dual core vs Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
4gb ram vs 4gb ram
vista Home Premium 64bit for both (I've never used 64 bit before... :'(  )

and more features at the source, like Tv tuner, and various things I'm not too sure about.

I would like to use the computer for graphic stuff, like Photoshop and 3d programs, as well as being able to do everyday things like surfing the web and watching videos, playing the occasional game, etc.

Which do you recommend and why?

Are they good deals (especially for what I need with a limited budget of $700 or less)? Do you know of better deals?
Thanks! :) 
February 5, 2009 11:30:41 PM

it looks pretty good but - on the surface:
but......

q9300 is crap chip way better with a q6600

find a small builder, local, and buy a good system - its really not bad, you could due better with a faster dual core then slow quad

choose the amd
February 5, 2009 11:38:53 PM

The Gateway refurb has a MUCH faster CPU and a significantly faster graphics card. However, it probably has a short warranty as a refurb, and Gateway does not have the best quality reputation (and may be bankrupt soon). The other is a no-name brand, so who knows if its quality and backing is any better.