----i7 860---- Overclocking guidance needed.

CheckMate2010

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2010
Hi,

I'm new to tom's hardware and new to building and overclocking PCs.

I built a new system in Dec 09 and I'm really pleased with it, but I know with a bit of tuning and overclocking I can make it somewhat better!

This is my system...

i7 860
asus p7p55d motherboard
corsair CMD4GX3M2A1600C8 4GB 1600MHz 2x 2GB RAM kit
nvidia 8600GT 1024MB
2x 500GB Western Digital caviar green 32MB Cache
Win 7 x64 Ultimate Edition

I plan to upgrade my graphics card and double my RAM in the near future.

I want to tune up my system now to get the most out of it. I have been trying to do as much reseach on overclocking before i start so I have as good an idea of what I am doing as possible, however I still have a lot of questions that haven't been answered in any of the articles I have read so I decided it's time to start asking people in the forums!

Okay first things first... I want to use my computer mostly for computing, not games. I mostly use it for a heavy amount of photoshop, Illustrator and web browsing and also some coding of websites and word processing. Also in a year or so I expect I may well get into video editing.

What I have so far learnt is that the type of computing I do is very memory intensive and so therefore I should try to configure my system with this in mind. I have been told that I should try and get the most out of the potential my RAM has to offer.

These are the stats for my RAM...

Fig 1)

SS_02.jpg

Fig 2)

SS_04.jpg

Fig 3)

SS_05.jpg

it is 1600 MHz RAM but I have a couple of queries about it..

1) what is the difference between Real Clock (beign 800MHz) and Effective Clock (being 1600MHz)? is that normal to have a real clock that is half the effective clock? if I only had 400MHz RAM would it's real clock be 200MHz?