Phenom 965 getting a little to good overclock?

bigj1985

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2010
Ok so this is my first post to the community as I always read reliable info from this site so I figured it was time to join. I just finished building a new semi budget gaming rig and I am getting incredible overclocks from my cpu using amd overdrive. In fact it seems so easy to overclock this particular chip that I am trying to see if these clocks are for real. My specs are as follows:

amd phenom 965 125w tdp be 3.4ghz processor
gigabyte mobo( not sure exact type) lol
4gb g skill ddr2 1066 ram
xfx radeon 4890 video card
500gb hard drive
i am also using the corsair h50 cpu cooler(awesome cooler btw)

neways I am fairly new to overclocking and this was my first build. I got the black edition so what the hell i figured i would oc the heck out of this thing. I use overdrive to oc. i know people say that bios is the way to go but from what i see amd has produced a software that is pretty darn accurate as i always keep CPU Z open right next to overdrive to confirm results of clockspeed. So here is the thing. I can open AMD overdrive and simply set my multiplier to 20 which gives me an overclock of 4ghz. I mean completely stable 4 hours prime 95 and the whole hour of amd stability test all cores 100% and never even reach over 50 celcius. Temps are awesome thanks to this cheap nifty little corsair hydro cooler. My main question is I hear people having trouble even getting to 3.8 with these chips on stock voltage and I dont even have to touch my voltages to get a 4 ghz clock. Do i just have a really good chip or what?? I thought ddr2 1066 would prevent me from even going this high. I dont know exactly how much memory effects overclocking but i know that you need to keep up with the front side bus. So do I just have a good one from the batch?? Should I up my voltage anyway?? Has anyone else seen these results? I would love to hear some responses from people whom have had this amount of OC ex