E6600 Overclocking

Kralnor

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2009
I'm attempting to overclock my E6600. My motherboard is a GA-965P-DS4 and I'm using 4GB Corsair XMS2 PC5400.

So far I am up to 2.79GHz (9*310FSB) and Prime95 has been running FFT for 45 mins without a hitch. SpeedFan is showing a max temp of 57C while CoreTemp reads 62C. I am not using auto vcore but have left it at default.

Which temp reading should I trust and how far can I go before temps get too high?

I use speedfan and its always within a couple degrees of my bios so i trust speedfan. I wouldn't let the temps get higher then 68c. You should really use a good after market cooler if your serious about overclocking. Which E6600 you using the core 2 duo or the Pentium dual core?

Kralnor

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2009
This is a Conroe C2D. I am using the stock cooler for now since I wanted to experiment a little with CPU OC'ing before investing in a third party cooler. This is my first time ever OC'ing a CPU so I am taking small steps.

I was recommended the Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in another thread. How does its noise level measure up to the stock cooler? My rig is very quiet and I'd hate to change that.

Core Temp just touched 64C so I'll probably stop here until I get some better cooling.

Kralnor

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2009
Another question that came to my mind was the limiting factor of the RAM. Obviously, I wouldn't be able to go higher than 333MHz FSB without OC'ing the RAM since it's only PC5400.

If I can't get the E6600 above 3GHz even with an aftermarket cooler, it seems a bit wasteful to buy one now that it is completely stable at 2.8GHz.