I7 920 - seems a bit too high

cynicallyenhance

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2010
System Info:
Overclocked my i7-290 to about 3.7 (blck - 180 x 21.0)
Case: Antec 1200
Heatsink: Vigor Monsoon III LT
Thermal Paste: IC7
Mobo: Gigabyte UD3R

At idles with fans at lowest settings I'm running around 50*C. I was reading the newegg reviews, and it seems like most people were able to clock it to 4ghz or keep idle temps around the 30s. When I run a prime 95 stress test with fans on max, my temps are around 80-85*C. These numbers seemed a bit high, am I doing anything wrong here?

I feel like I should be able to take this system to 4.0ghz without too much worry.

EDIT: I might note this is my first ever system build, so I'm new to all of this :b

cynicallyenhance

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2010
thermal paste is posted.
I used Innovation Cooling IC7 Thermal Compound. Applied about a pea-size (it might've been a little big not sure) on to the heatsink. I didn't clean the cpu after putting it in the mobo, but I didn't really touch it after dropping it in place.

As of right now, Real Temp is giving me

52 52 51 49 *C
all I have open is firefox and aim, load is around 1.5-2%

anonymousdude

Distinguished
If the stock cooler was on before and there was thermal paste on the CPU then yes you would need to clean it. If the CPU came straight out of the box then no you wouldn't need to clean it. Also did the heatsink have thermal paste on it? If it did then you need to clean it off as well before applying new paste. Also sometimes reseating the heatsink will fix the problem.

cynicallyenhance

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2010
Heatsink came new, and CPU came new. Nothing was on the heatsink other than a plastic film protecting the Cu finish which I took off. I forgot to put spacers in the assembly (checked a video online), but I assume that is just to protect the motherboard.