Sign in with
Your question

GTX 280 Uses Dual-link DVI-I!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 8, 2008 2:18:00 PM

I'm trying to plan my upcoming homebuilt but I've run into some video card conundrums. Articles I've read on this site say that DVI is on it's way out. How come nVidia's latest consumer video card, the GTX 280, has two dual-link DVI-I ports (and an S-video port)? It is especially worrisome because I can't seem to find any LCD displays that accept DVI-I. Everything takes DVI-D or HDMI. I'm a noob when it comes to the latest tech because I haven't built a system in over five years. If you could, please point to some LCD displays that would work great with the GTX 280 so I know what kind of things to look for. Thanks!

Eric

More about : gtx 280 dual link dvi

December 8, 2008 2:33:59 PM

Hi! I'm sorry I come from a networking background. To me DHCP means "Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol". I couldn't find an alternative meaning with google. What does DHCP mean with respect to video?

Here are some pictures of the DVI interfaces: http://www.interfacebus.com/Design_Connector_Digital_Vi...

So I could use a male dual-link DVI-D cable in the female dual-link DVI-I interface on the card...is that what you're saying? Cheers,

Eric
December 8, 2008 2:41:14 PM

I think I might have found the answer myself. Please tell me if I am wrong:

The female dual-link DVI-I port on the card can physically accept any DVI cable, thus it will accept a dual-link DVI-D cable.

I saw mention of HDCP (as opposed to DHCP), but it seemed something relating to digital copy protection. Is this what you're referring to?

Eric
Related resources
December 8, 2008 2:46:41 PM