Can't figure out how to manage Vcore??

rbates

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2010
I'll start with fessing up that I'm a newbie who has just build his first computer. So forgive any stupid questions. I've done a ton of reading on OC and tried to keep things simple, but now I think I need some help. In advance, many thanks to any kind souls who share their expertise.

In short, I have an Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale 2.8GHz Dual-Core Processor running on a Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard with 4GB of RAM (2 sticks of 2 GB G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual Channel Kit) running with Windows7 Professional. I'll put my full system config at the end.

Simple overclocking got me to an FSB of 350MHz a 10.5 (maxed out) CPU Clock Ratio, and a SPD set at 2.00B (FSB/DRAM ratio is 1:1) yeilds a CPU frequency of 3.675GHz which is obviously screaming compared to out of the box, and RealTemp shows running very cool 38/37 degrees idle and 50/48 degrees running Prime95 in-place large FFT Torture Test for about 5 minutes. All power saving settings are enabled. While Prime95 is running, CPU-Z shows Core Voltage = 1.328V. When Idle, CPU-Z shows Core Voltage - raises - to 1.360V?? I get a 3dMark06 scores of 3DMark Score = 4941 and an associated CPU score = 3240.

Vcore is set to Auto in bios. I see all kinds of people talking about DES and the ability to manipulate it on or off. I can't find DES settings anywhere in the bios.

I tried raising FSB to 353 (3.7 GHz) and 362 (3.8 GHz), but 3DMark06 actually shows my scores dropping as compared to my 3.675 GHz results?

3.675 GHz yields 3DMark Score = 4941 and an associated CPU score = 3240.
3.7 GHz yields 3DMark Score = 4798 and an associated CPU score = 2460.
3.8 GHz yields 3DMark Score = 4818 and an associated CPU score = 2538.