Sign in with
Your question

My max memory for motherboard and OS

Last response: in Memory
March 17, 2009 5:09:24 AM

Hey guys, im a newbie so pardon if this is a dumb question...after doing research on the net ive found a few different answers..

I just purchased all the parts to put together a new desktop setup, which im pretty damn excited about even though its nothing too special..

I plan on installing XP 32 bit and previously read that windows XP 32 bit can recognize up to 4 GB of ram. So I purchased a new motherboard and 2 X 2GB sticks of ram. Now im crusing around again tonight and read somewhere that win XP 32 bit cannot recognize that much ram. Whats going on here? Did i get too much ram?

More about : max memory motherboard

March 17, 2009 5:18:07 AM

Alright guys, my bad. I just found a whole thread about this. Looks like the bios recognizes 4 GB but only 3GB is actually used. I guess that extra GB will be there if i update to 64 bit
March 17, 2009 8:51:20 AM

Yeah, 2 x 2GB is the sweet spot, even though some is taken up by hardware addresses.
Related resources
March 17, 2009 9:03:22 AM

I'm getting ready to upgrade as well and got xp32 was going to use 2x2gb also I don't care about the loss of memory till I go to windows7. My worry is OS not operating right as in sticking something in missing address space and not being able to retrieve it. Do I have to worry or will I be only missing some of my memory without having to worry about the OS not operating right?
March 17, 2009 9:49:11 AM

No worries at all, that's what the addresses are for. You will just loose some RAM, no big deal.
March 17, 2009 2:06:12 PM

Heck, even with 3+GB of RAM, XP has WAAAAAAY more than it needs...you should get great performance with little to no paging. If I were you, I'd set my page file to 512MB or 1GB min/max (so that its not being resized) and enjoy your speed.

Have fun.
March 17, 2009 10:11:09 PM