My First Build, please Check

sayguh

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2008
So this is my first attempt at putting together a kick butt system. Please let me know what you think.

Mobo - ASRockx38 - $107
Video Card - Radeon 4870x2 OC'd - $520
HDD Seagate 7200.11 - $60
Monitor Samsung 2253BW $210
Case XCLIO A380BK $110
PSU Corsair CMPSU 750W $99
RAM 2 x 2G Patriot DDR3-1600 $155
CPU Intel E8500 $189

Total ~ $1500

What do you guys think? It's my first build so please be gentle, but also tell me if something is horribly wrong, uncompatible or just a stupid buy.

A few notes: The Mobo runs x38 which I know is old but I don't really want to spend the money for a x48 and i want full speeds if i go crossfire, i also wanted DDR3 RAM to future proof myself. I don't know if I want to spend the extra money and get the E8600 so any comments on that would be good. The HDD and video card I got from Toms Hardware charts, just kind of pulled out ones near the top. A few of the items I found have open box specials on new egg which I'm excited about :-D

slomo4sho

Distinguished
You don't need DDR3 ram, you will never utilize it with the CPUs available on the 775 socket! Stick with DDR2 800. Secondly, get a better motherboard. I would recommend GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P or ASUS P4Q Pro.

And if you truly want the DDR3 ram, consider going with the i7 920. Expect an additional ~$300 increase in costs if you go this route.

sayguh

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2008
Since I'm new to all of this, could you explain why the DDR3 would not be utilized using a 775 socket. I did out a few calculations comparing DDR2 1066 with a CL of 5, and a DDR3 1333 CL9 and found that as long as the CPU receives more than 14 bits of information the DDR3 is the faster option. I didn't do any calcs with the 1600 but given the same CL it's going to yield even better results. Are you saying that the increase in speed will simply be too little that the difference will be unnoticable? Thanks for the quick response :-D

slomo4sho