Sign in with
Your question

Need some advice guys about building

Last response: in Systems
November 17, 2008 12:52:23 PM

First I'd Like to introduce my self. Im Liam and I Live in Eastern Ireland. I like to play games like Cod2 and Cod4 Play some Wow but i haven't in a while because i stop for obvious reasons :)  and im soon gona get Cod5.

I'm Thinking about Getting a new Pc but im confused about what road to go. Weather to build my own from scratch? Or to buy a pre build one from dell or alienware or such places. ( Iv been told to stay away).

But my problem lies when buying the components is where to i buy them from that will ship to Ireland? Hopefully you know some sites.

I have some experience changing graphics cards and putting some extra ram in to my machine but thats about it.

Im looking to make a pretty good gaming pc so im not too worried about like Blu Ray burners etc because il use this pc if i need to do anything like that.

My current pc specs are something like this:

Packard Bell NEC (?)
Cpu:Intell Pentium 4 3.06Ghz
Ram:2.5Gb
Gfx Card:Nvidia 7600Gs 256mb i think

Em thats all i can dig up but i think i can find more if needed. So im just wondering if i was to build my own pc..

-Is there a checklist of things that i need
-Wheres the best place to buy the stuff
-Do you recommend i build my on pc and is it extremely hard?
-Wheres the best place to spend the bulk of my money
-What brands would be better?
-Sli or not?

I just need some general advice really so thats all..

Oh budget wise the cheaper the better but i suppose maybe 600-800$ would suit fine but i suppose i could go over it a bit if it ment i had a really cool rig.

I would really like two good cards running in sli but if the price is too much then i can settle for one.

Cheers Guys :D 

More about : advice guys building

November 17, 2008 1:11:08 PM

The answers to your questions in order are