Sign in with
Your question

NEW PC! Seeking advice and some wisdom

Last response: in Components
February 11, 2009 11:08:08 AM

First of all hello!

I'm kinda new to this border and am seeking advice about the well known question, which PSU to pick?

Currently I'm looking through tons of web stores etc to find the hardware after the principles of "best bang for the bucket" without going on compromise with performace (naerly) and so far I've decided to get following:

CPU:
Intel i7 920 (Stock: 2.66GHZ gonna see if I can use my non existing OC'ing skills to get it up around the 3.2-3.4GHZ but with a little advice and some nice guids it will work out.)

Motherboard:
Asus X58 P6T Deluxe

RAM:
3 x 2GB DDR3-PC12800 1600MHZ Corsair Dominator

Harddisk:
1 TB Samsung F1 Spinpoint

GFX:
295 GTX (Not decided what producer and doesn't really matter unless there are advantages)

Cooling:
Well... Good question. I'd like watercooling for my CPU since I really like a silent computer (much as possible). I would appreciate any recomendation.

Drive:
Might add an BlueRay drive later since they aren't that expensive anymore (at least the readers aren't).

I've been on the different PSU producer homepages where you can a PSU tjeck by filling out a scheme and it tells you how much your system might use. It ended up from 723 to 840w. Honestly I have no idea if i did everything wrong so I hope that someone on this hardware mekka could help me figuring out whats the best for this setup.
Ohh and if anyone has any other advice in cooling or some better alternatives on hardware your more then welcome to comment.

Appreciated :) 

Yours sincerely
Phoenix

More about : seeking advice wisdom

a b ) Power supply
February 11, 2009 1:53:24 PM

Using just one video card? Checkout the pc power and cooling silencer 610w model for $89.99 before rebate at newegg.com. It has a single 12v rail rated at a high 49 amps.
February 11, 2009 2:30:29 PM

o1die said: