Sign in with
Your question

Help connecting PSU/MOBO/COOLER/FANS

Last response: in Overclocking
March 21, 2010 7:27:22 PM

Hi all,

I'm a first time builder who has bought all the components for a new PC and would appreciate some help wiring the fans up. I have:
- Lian Li PC-B25F case. This has 5 fans ...
* 2 x 120mm (1200 RPM) fans on the front panel
* 2 x 140mm (1000 RPM) fans on top of case
* 1 x 120mm (1500 RPM) fan on (upper) rear panel of case
* PSU is mounted on (lower) rear panel of case

- P7P55D-E pro motherboard
- Noctua NH-D14 (comes with 2 x radiator fans)
- i5-750
- Seasonic X-650 PSU

(I also have other components RAM, Video card etc too).

My motherboard has the following fan headers:
- CPU_FAN (middle of the board)
- CHA_FAN1 (adjacent to CPU_FAN)
- CHA_FAN2 (extreme bottom right corner of board)
- PWR_FAN

I was wondering what the best way connect all of the available fans to my Motherboard would be (which should be connected to the motherboard and which to the PSU)? I have a y-splitter cable so that I can wire both of my Noctua coolers fans to a single fan header. Will my motherboard be able to power these OK? (The fans look huge). Also, the motherboard has Asus's Fan Xpert technology built in so I'd like to make sure everything's connected to use this if possible!

Thanks in advance all!
a b V Motherboard
a b K Overclocking
March 21, 2010 9:37:17 PM

I do not recommend using the y splitter cable to connect the two cpu heatsink fans to the cpu_fan connection on the motherboard. It can cause problems.

1. Connect one cpu heatsink fan to the cpu-fan connection on the motherboard. The is mandatory so the system can monitor the fan. If you go into BIOS when you start your computer you can make adjustments to the fan speed or let the system control the fan speed based on cpu temperature. Your system may also be able to control additional fans connected to the motherboard. It just depends.