CPU mbo mismatch?

itsbob

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2009
Had a Dell Dimension 8400 with a runaway CPU fan that would not boot up and decided to build a cheap replacement.
Purchased a Biostar G31-M7 TE 775 mATX mbo (socket 775), Intel Celeron 430-L single core, and the cheapest case I could find. Swapped in a known functioning psu and monitor. Problem I have is I cannot boot-up. CPU cooling fan spins, a hard drive I attached spins, but no video. Also, my USB attached wireless receiver for moue/keyboard does not light. Tried resetting CMOS, triple checking connections, and swapping wireless USB receiver and monitor over to another known working box (to confirm these peripherals work – which they do). This is my first build – what have I over looked? I have no RAM or cards on the mbo, just a functioning psu and monitor attached to a new mbo and cpu.

Only thing I can think of is a mismatch of processor and mbo. The mbo product spec lists a Celeron 400 as being compatible, the one I purchased is a Celeron 430, are these compatible?

I was thinking bios revision could be an issue, but looking at the website it appears that it is supported, and lists no revision from which it is supported, therefore its probably not a bios problem.

Will it boot with no ram (i've never tried)

itsbob

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2009

Thanks for the response 13thmonkey,

Yes, I have tried booting with ram installed and received the same results - blank screen. Once one powers up, would you know if any activity is required initially from the CPU, or does the BIOS in the CMOS perform its job prior to a call to the CPU? Could I pull a CPU and get into BIOS in order to rule out a bad CPU?

This is driving me crazy. I started with pretty much a complete system and then starting removing drives, cards, and RAM in order to diagnose this isssue. I dooubt I shorted anything during assembly because I was using a wrist strap.

Any help would be much appreciated.

CoachB

Distinguished
Jan 5, 2009
itsbob,