Kodiak1779

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2009
Ok I'm new to this forum, so I'm sorry if this question has already been asked. I do appreciate any help with this though.

Well for starters I bought a new computer about a month ago. It was a huge step up from what I was useing. It has a Q8200 quad strapped to a foxconn G31mx 2.0 motherboard with 4 gigs of ram and a 8400gs evga gpu. I'm loving this machine so far.

I've ran a cpuid on it and can't seem to find the manufacture of the sticks of ram. I'm not a fan of generic ram being that I don't find it to be as reliable as patriot or crucial. The ram is running at 1.8v. I'd like to use patriot or a gameing grade of ram, which I've found for a decent price but don't want to buy it if my machine can't use it. My question is the ram that I found requires 1.9v - 2.0v. Will my mobo auto detect and adjust for it? If not I'm very new to any OCing and have no clue how to change the settings in the bios. Any help there would be wounderful.

Just had another question pop in my head. (sorry trying to do 100 things at once) I'd love to upgrade the gpu card in it but I'm not sure if my psu can handle it. The psu is a 480w. I would like to put a 250 gts gpu in it. So I was thinking of useing a Sparkle brand. Oh yes my OS is vista x64.

Anyhelp would be much apprieciated. Thank you all for your time.

Replacing the RAM will not improve performance by much (0-1%). If the new RAM requires 1.9-2.0V, you'll have to set the voltage and timings manually. Use CPU-Z to see who manufactured your RAM, it's current timings and available SPD values. If you're a gamer, a faster GPU would be a better investment.

Kodiak1779

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2009