First time building a computer

lxseto93

Distinguished
Nov 19, 2008
So, I'm completely new at putting together a computer and I want to build a gaming computer. I've never really even opened up a computer and did something with it.. so is it easy to build a computer? I have general knowledge of computer and have experience in building car/gundam model kits(lol) so I'm guessing it can't be TOO hard.. anyways, I was looking around for parts and so far I am thinking

processor: 3.16 core2duo, 3.33 core2duo, or 2.5 core2quad? is it worth to pay 70-100 more for the 3.33/quad? if so which one should I get?
case: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3424759&CatId=1510 or http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2478135&CatId=1510 (liquid cooling?)
hard drive: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4206999&Sku=M122-8048
motherboard: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-Details.asp?EdpNo=3523225&sku=E145-2034 any or other suggestions?
video card: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3952602&csid=_25
ram: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3404049&csid=_25 is this enough, or get 8?
powe supply: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2522440&csid=_25 enough?
CD drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827106260 , what's the SATA slim thing, can I like put 2 of these in 1 drive bay? I'm not sure how it works..
operating system: Vista home premium 64 bit.
Price: around 1000-1300 dollars depending what I get.
do tell if there's anything wrong with this build or if something is missing.

also, what tools/safety will I need? I saw this computer building kit for like 40 bucks.. is it really necessary?
thank you.