Safe overclock for stock phenom II x4 940

bigbrooks10

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2010
Hi there, i just ordered a new desktop system, my first as a matter of fact.
Its a Phenom II x4 940 BE with stock fans and cooling
Asus HD5770 1GB DDR5
4GB RAM
Asus M4N78 Professional mobo
650w PSU
x-blade case

i was just wondering what i can do safely to tweak it for optimal gaming.
i don't want to buy anything else new, i just want to do a little tweaking with what i've got.
seeing as im a novice simple terms will help lol just minor changes to the cpu maybe take it to 3.2GHZ and also a few people in forums have mentioned tweaking the video card to make it a monster or something. any ideas what i can do.
Also i dont want to do any tweaks that will reduce the life of my hardware, just safe tweaks to make them work better.
any comments welcome, thanks.

JofaMang

Distinguished
Jun 14, 2009
Well, if you are not willing to reduce the life of your hardware, then you can't OC. When you overclock, you increase heat and voltages, both of which, even in small doses, will reduce the entire lifespan of your parts.

Now, if you plan on replacing in less than say, 3 years, then mild overclocks (3.0-3.2ghz on the CPU) probably won't cause the CPU to fail before that time. BUT, this is the truth about overclocking: you cannot predict how long an overclocked part will last. Before you consider even mildly overclocking your computer, you must be ready to deal with negative consequences. if you are not willing to take any risk, don't bother overclocking.

unclefester

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2008