Sign in with
Your question

Processor Cooling in Space

Last response: in Overclocking
Anonymous
a b K Overclocking
March 25, 2010 12:21:33 AM

Hi,
I'm an aspiring electrical engineer and computer scientist in college, and I was daydreaming the other day about a processor in space. At first, I thought it would be really cool to see how fast you could overclock it since space is extremely cold, but then I realized that, since there is no air in space, you couldn't simply put a fan over it and blow nothing onto the processor. How are computer processors cooled in space (and more specifically on satellites?)
a b K Overclocking
March 25, 2010 12:25:26 AM

Heatpipe!

Funny thought, unfortunately space is a vacuum so you need a closed loop.

The cpu's that arnt in the internal atmosphere of the spacecraft are cooled using evaporation with a heat pipe. They use heat pipes because conduction still works in space. Just not convection.

Anyway, your CPU would coldbug before you could overclock it at those temps.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
March 25, 2010 2:05:27 AM

Interesting. never gave it any thought. It really would freeze big time. I know it is cold but how cold is it in outer space?
m
l
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
March 25, 2010 2:27:34 AM

^3k or about -270.3c.

The only heat is from the residual radiation from the big bang and it is slowly cooling down.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
March 25, 2010 5:43:43 PM

Empty space is around 0k but it has so few particles to actually transfer heat to.