Partial Upgrade (CPU/Mobo/RAM)

thousandtofive

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2008
So my current PC is a Socket 939 Athlon X2 3800+ with 2gb of DDR RAM, but at present the machine is struggling to keep up with the various development tools I've had to throw at it (including virtual machines.) So for starters, I need to move to a processor with virtualization support as well as more RAM.

The problem is - I'm a college student and I just can't money toward this despite necessity. I'm trying to stay under $400 if at all possible.

I'm looking at this processor:

As for ram, I'd definitely like to go for 8gb because of the nature of what I'm doing. I have this set, actually:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145184

But as I can only purchase one, what would you think about adding in this along with it? I don't know a lot about RAM;
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227269

Then I finally need to settle on a motherboard. I'd like a motherboard with an Intel chipset, but otherwise I'm just looking for something under $100 if possible. Overclocking would be nice, but in general, I'm just looking for something inexpensive but as high quality as possible. Any recommendations?

If you are going with 8 GB of Ram, you will need a 64-bit operating system.
4 GB is the limit for a 32-bit operating system.
If you have problems with 8 GB of Ram:

Set the RAM voltage to max and bump up the NB voltage until its stable.

thousandtofive

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2008
I'm aware of the need for a 64-bit operating system, and I currently have an nVidia 7600 GT PCI-Express 16x card as well as SATA hard drives and a PATA DVD+RW drive. The power supply is 500w ATX.

I've got to stick with Intel due to the nature of the virtualisation I'll be doing, but thank you for that suggestion. It is a very good deal, just not one I can go with at present.