Sign in with
Your question

Need Help with SLOW Sata on ASUS Board

Last response: in Motherboards
March 27, 2009 6:29:39 PM

Im new at toms hardware, but have used it for looking up problems before.
Now i need help with 2 problems ....

I have recently built a new system.

I have used a -

ASUS M3N78 SE Motherboard
3 x Western Digital 320 SATA 3 drives
OCZ PC 8500 1066mhz Ram 2 x 2gb
AMD 7750 Black 2.7ghz Processor

I think this would be all the information you need to help me, however if you need more just ask!

I tried to setup a raid configuration on 2 of the drives but failed miserably. Ive setup raid before but for some reason when i inserted the 1.44 floppys with the raid drivers on then continued windows setup i kept getting a message -
'Cannot find file nvd32sys.dll' or something similar.

Has anyone had problems setting up raid on this motherboard? or can someone explain why? :fou: 

After giving up i decided i would just use them as 3 seperate SATA drives and backup the data myself.
I installed the operating system no problem, windows xp 32bit.

Now the system is running its been taking AGES to boot and when it finally does it takes AGES to open applications in windoes...i.e Outlook take about 1 minute to open!
(
So i downloaded a benchmark program and noticed that the SATA disks had normal(ish) Write speeds, but the Read Speeds were TERRIBLE. Nearly Zero, including the Random Read!

So now i have a new, but really slow system and i not sure what the answer is.

Has anyone had the same problems? Does anyone know what my problems are? Id prefer to be able to resolve the raid issue but if not then a resolution of the slow SATA drives would be cool.

Id Appreciate any help as i cant find any information myself! :cry: 

Cheers
David

More about : slow sata asus board

March 27, 2009 6:49:59 PM

nvd32sys sounds like a nvidia file. Do you have a Nvidia chipset?
If so try here
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx