New i7 build, looking for criticism/comments before ordering.

madnj

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2008
OK, so I'm looking to build a new i7 based PC, and I'm looking at a build that will give me elbow room for now and the future. I'll be using it as a gaming system, but I work as a senior level systems engineer for an outsourcing provider so I'll want to be able to do a lot with it (including likely running Virtual Machines and testing out new software). While price is a consideration, it isn't a limiting factor in building a system, so I'm looking for arguments for/against components I have selected with possible replacement options.

Here is what I am looking to purchase currently:

Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail - $109.99 - Nice mid tower case to house the beast

Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1000 1000W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Retail - $159.99 (after $90 instant rebate) - 1000 watts to support potential Crossfire cards in the future

ASUS Rampage II Extreme LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail - $398.99 - Solid, easily overclockable MB with tons of features and ports

Intel Core i7 920 2.66GHz LGA 1366 Quad-Core Processor Model BX80601920 - Retail - $299.99 - I chose the 920 for the great price/performance point. I could go up in processor speed, but this has shown to be easily overclockable and I don't know that the performance increase would be "real world" noticeable for increased $ here.

CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TR3X6G1333C9 - Retail - $225.00 - 6GB of RAM is right for triple channel, but not sure if I need/should go higher speed than DDR3 1333. I also could consider adding another 6GB of RAM for more overhead if I'll run VMs frequently.