Raid 0 with backup? Or Raid 5

xelis

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2009
Hello, I am fairly new to setting up a raid and I was hoping some may have suggestions for me. I recently bought 2 f3 samsung spinpoints 500 gb single platter hard drives. I want to increase performance by running them in raid configuration. Would you recommend having the two f3 samsungs in raid 0 configuration and my older maxtor (slower) 500gb harddrive just as a back up drive? (perhaps holding things such as windows or things I don't need to access very often)

Or should I run it as raid 5 and use the maxtor as a parity drive? I am unsure if I will lose performance for using an older drive as the parity or not, so was hoping someone could clear that up for me. Thanks

pat

Expert
Set a RAID0 array and install the OS on. Use the Maxtor as a backup drive with software like puresync that allow you to mirror folder. this way, any file saved/modified in a folder on the array will have the same mirrored folder on the maxtor. in the unlikely event that the RAID fail, you still have a copy of your importany folder on the maxtor. but remember that important file should be on a backup somewhere else than on your computer.

I'm setted up this way, never have a lost file... thou I never had an array fail on me..

sub mesa

Distinguished
I do not recommend FakeRAID5 on Windows platforms; a lot of people lost their data even with no disk crashes; steer clear of these crappy drivers!

However, RAID0 is pretty simple and straightforward. Not too much that can go wrong. And since you have a backup you won't be getting any surprises. So i would recommend this option over the RAID5 option; where you have no backup and a high chance of losing your data.

xelis

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2009

Sorry, I'm still learning a bit about raid 5. I thought with the parity drive, even though there is no back up, it would require 2 of the 3 drives to fail with raid 5? Is this true?