Why do custom build sites always rip you off?

liam11

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2008
Hi Guys,
I'm kinda new at building, having overclocked a few things and replaced bits in old machines before, but never scratch built one. I want to buy a gaming rig and build it myself, as it's far cheaper, but to be honest, a lot of my previous computers in the last few years have been paid by my company, I'm a few years behind on upgrading and buying bits......

I have a fair knowledge and I've been hunting the various custom build companies websites to get a handle on what parts they use and why.

I have found the fairly ridiculous build that I want to start with at a base, and am happy to up/down grade to save cost or improve preformance, but I cant believe that using a customise site that this machine is like, 10000USD!

I understand that the latest model components spike in price, but can I get basically the same level of performance on a big LCD screen (my tv 48 inches) with little or no degradation. I am happy to overclock and liquid cool, but I have no experience overclocking or liquid cooling performance machines, only junkie old pentium 4's

Thanks for the help!

Specifications:
Processor: Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition 965 3.2GHz
Motherboard: ASUS Rampage II Extreme (Intel X58 Chipset) (Supports Triple SLI or CrossFire)
System Memory: 12GB DDR3 1800MHz Corsair Dominator DHX
Power Supply: 1000W Corsair HX (Dual/Triple/Quad SLI Compatible)
Hard Drive Set 1: Operating System: 80GB Solid State (By: Intel) (Model: SSDSA2MH080G1C5)
Set 1 Raid Options: Configure Hard Drive Set 1 in a Raid 0 Stripe
Hard Drive Set 2: Multimedia\Data: 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor (10K RPM) (16MB Cache)
Hard Drive Set 3: Backup\Misc.: 1TB Western Digital (7200 RPM) (16MB Cache)
Optical Drive 1: Blu-Ray Writer/Reader (Burn Blu-Ray discs and play them) Optical Drive 2: DVD±R/RW/CD-R/RW
Internet Access: Bigfoot Killer Network Card
Video Card: 3x SLI Triple (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 1GB)