Sign in with
Your question

A Disk Read Error Occured. Press CTRL+ALT+DEL to restart

Last response: in Storage
May 4, 2010 10:12:52 AM

A Disk Read Error Occured. Press CTRL+ALT+DEL to restart

im trying to fix this since january 2010

i try to install fresh OS but its always same error after 1 day or half day or 2 hours

tried with 3 HD drive same error, change sata vable power supply but still same error

im tired of formatting it or repair in recovery because i know that it will give me same error after i installed fresh OS or reapair in recovery

do we have perfect solution on this problem.

please tell me what is exact problem of this computer

im a newbie in computer trouble shooting and start learned to format and repair in recovery last april

i also have search in forum and to our uncle google tried and apply what they say but im always falied like others facing this problem

asrock Intel (R) core (TM) 2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz 1.99 GB of RAM
Anonymous
a b G Storage
May 4, 2010 12:21:51 PM

The message implies a hard drive problem but you have tried other drives. So must look to hard drive controller or how it's set up in the BIOS.

Try selecting the BIOS option for a default or safe setting for all BIOS controls -- and see if the problem goes away. If it does, change relevant settings one at a time until the problem returns or continues to abate, that should help guide you to the correct setting.

I would also look to the motherboard maker's site for a fresh download of the driver set, possibly looking for newer ones on the chipset maker's website.
m
l
May 4, 2010 3:12:49 PM

where i can find that in bios?

in smart tab this is what its saying

its saying default

load bios default
load performance setup default IDE/SATA
load power saving setup default

am i correct?

save and exit?

what will i do next?

sorry for my english if im wrong grammar, very hard for me to explain and answer in english

please understand
m
l
Related resources
a c 127 G Storage