Sign in with
Your question

Installing a new motherboard.. Help

Last response: in Motherboards
March 28, 2009 6:07:35 PM

Hello

I am going to be installing a new motherboard for the first time and I will need some help.

My system specs:

Antec 900
Geforce 9800GT
E8400
600W PSU
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
320GB Hard drive

Existing Motherboard: Abit 1-47CV

New motherboard: EVGA nForce Nvidia 750i Sli motherboard
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E1681...

Now, my questions:

1) How do I take the backplate from my Tuniq Tower off my old mobo? Or should I just order a new one.

2) Do I need to create a backup disk before installing the new mobo.

3) Does my stuff get erased if I don't backup my system?

4) Is all my stuff compatible with my new motherboard?

Any other tips on installing a motherboard would be appreciated.
This is my first time ever doing this. When i installed my cpu I didn't install the heatsink right, so I had to take it into a store and let them do it.

Thanks

-Mark

More about : installing motherboard

a b V Motherboard
March 28, 2009 6:17:23 PM

You will need to reformat and reinstall your OS on your old 320GB hard drive. Then load up the MB CD drivers/utilities from the new 750i MB CD. Backup any important data before reformat/reinstall OS. The 320GB HD has the drivers/chipset etc. for your old MB which will not work on your new 750i.

Tuniq Tower can likely be reused with proper backple for a socket AM2.
March 28, 2009 6:28:13 PM

badge said:
You will need to reformat and reinstall your OS on your old 320GB hard drive. Then load up the MB CD drivers/utilities from the new 750i MB CD. Backup any important data before reformat/reinstall OS. The 320GB HD has the drivers/chipset etc. for your old MB which will not work on your new 750i.

Tuniq Tower can likely be reused with proper backple for a socket AM2.