Arkham

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2010
First of all, hey! What's up? :bounce:

Now what I'm planning on getting is the OCZ XTC Memory Cooler, as depicted in the picture below;

OCZ-XTC-Cooler-Rev.2-for-RAM-Module-1.jpg

Put it under 'spoiler' for those of you who might not want to waste bandwidth. :)

Now if you've just looked at that picture, you will see that it lights up blue. I dislike blue. :cry:

What I'm going to attempt to do is open it up (it seems to have screws on the top), cut out the blue leds and whack in some red ones. Now I'm new to modding (if you can even call this modding :kaola: ) so I wanted your opinions on whether or not you think this will work/if it's a good idea.

The main reason I'm doing this is I'm going for a completely RED look with my soon to be new case the CM 690ii Advance w/ window panel.

:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

Oh yeah and sorry if I've posted this in the wrong section. Feel free to move it.

Arkham

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2010
What's a PITA?

And do you have any ideas on how to find the size/amp of the LEDs? I haven't purchased it yet and am hoping to get it online with the LEDs so I probably won't be able to get it first.
:)

Conumdrum

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
Pain In The A$$.

Yea, you'll need to get the same LED's for voltage. measure the reistsnce forward and reverse bias, try to find the same ones, they come in a billion different voltages/flavors.

If they are straight wired, no resistors etc, just get two 6V ones and run them in series.

The image is not coming up for me.

I assume you mean this OCZ memory cooler:

http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/cooling_products/ocz_xtc_cooler_rev_2