Homebuilt noob looking for lots of general advice

sikonawt

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2004
I'm running a 3.5 year old rig now and am going to replace it in the next six months or so. I'm reasonably tech savvy, but I'm not a hardware expert by any means and I've never built my own system before (one of my greatest failings as a nerd.)

Anyway, I'm not really sure if I even want to try building my own or if it would be better to go for a quality custom pc builder. My last system was a Monarch, but they tanked majorly and I probably wouldn't buy from them again even if they still existed. I've heard good things about Puget, Velocity Micro, etc...

But still, I feel like I could probably do a lot better for the money by building it myself.

I'm looking to spend in the $1200-$1600 range. I'm happy with my Samsung Syncmaster 204BW, so I won't be needing a new monitor. I'm also considering taking my 74gb raptor out of my present machine and transplanting it into the new one. I don't generally keep a lot of media or more than 2 games on my PC at once, so the size hasn't been a problem for me. I imagine it might become an issue in a few years, but it would be easy enough to upgrade when the time comes. That said, I'm still running XP pro and I should probably upgrade to Vista.

So some basic questions:

1. Given my pricepoint, how much can I expect to "save" by building it myself? I'm going to spend the same amount of money either way, so when I say "save" I mean the difference between how much would I have to spend from a builder to get an equivalent system to what I can build in my price range.

2. How difficult is a typical building process? How many hours can I expect to spend before I get the thing stable, ballpark?

3. What is the risk of a "critical failure" in which a new builder botches something badly enough to require part replacement?

4. What is the difference in reliability between home and pro built?