Putting together a computer this week, need advice overclocking.

Rylen

Distinguished
Apr 4, 2010
Hi I already have these parts ordered and ready, this is my first build ever, and I tried to go with High Performance with low noise and low heat. This was the best I could come up with under my budget.

What I'm going to need help with is the OC, since this will be my first build ever, and the first time I ever attempt Overclocking, what types of speeds should I aim for with the CPU, Memory, and GPU? What do I overclock first? I guess I'm looking for the most fail safe ways to overclock, not the best performance possible with extreme OC.

I've read the Mushkin Memory I have can reach 1800mhz @ 6-8-6-24 timing, I think thats about where I should try to be with the memory right?

Any help would be much appreciated.

I'll get a SATA III SSD in a few months, when it has matured a bit and their is more competition forcing prices a bit down.

Lian Li PC-A05NB
1067.jpg

Replacement Cover for Top
T-LM14B-2-b.jpg

Asus PX658D Premium
asus_p6x58d_premium_board_01.jpg

Powercolor HD 5870 PCS+
PowerColor_PCS+_HD5870_01.jpg

i7 930
i7930.jpg

Mushkin Ridgeline PC3-12800 (6-8-6-24)
ridgebacktriple.aspx

Seagate Constellation ES 1TB
seagate-2-terabyte-hard-disk.jpg

Corsair Modular 750HX
B0029F21LK.jpg

Prolimatch MegahalmCPU Cooler
00547289.jpg

Two 120mm Noctua Case Fan from Noctua
image.jpg

One 120mm Noctua CPU Fan
nf-p12.jpg

One 140mm Noctua Case Fan
IMG_1569.jpg

What I'm going to need help with is the OC, since this will be my first build ever, and the first time I ever attempt Overclocking, what types of speeds should I aim for with the CPU, Memory, and GPU? What do I overclock first? I guess I'm looking for the most fail safe ways to overclock, not the best performance possible with extreme OC.

I've read the Mushkin Memory I have can reach 1800mhz @ 6-8-6-24 timing, I think thats about where I should try to be wi