[Please HELP] Building a $800 gaming PC! Are these parts GOOD?

jl0329

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2008
Hello everyone, I am trying a build a budget new desktop PC. This is my first time, so I am going to need all the help I can get :)

Let me thank you guys in advance for helping me out!

Thank you very much!

My budget for this PC is under $800 (Not including Moniter/Mouse/Keyboard)

My primary use for it is gaming, and I do want to do moderate Overclock on it.

I know there are countless choices for a new PC, so I decided to make things a little bit easier by nailing down the CPU first. Here are some parts that I already decided, let me list them first.

CPU: $179.99

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad-Core Processor, 2.40 GHz, 8M L2 Cache, LGA 775

I’ve decided to build a gaming PC around this processor and I intend to overclock it to 2.8 GHz – 3.0 GHz if possible.

Video Card: $259.99

EVGA 896-P3-1267-AR GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 Superclocked Edition 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card – Retail

Actually this is still subject to change. However, I do prefer the Nvidia over the ATI series.

Hard Drive: $99.99

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB Hard Drive - 7200RPM, 32MB, SATA-300, OEM

One thing I am not sure is that it says this OEM version comes WITH OUT any cable. Do I need to purchase any cables for it? Or are they included in the case/motherboard? (Sorry for being such a newbie :( )

Case

I was going to get the Antec Nine Hundred Case at Newegg, but it's SOLD OUT already!!

So I am going to need a new one. My preference for case is simple. Good airflow, friendly installation, fairly priced. I really don't care about the LOOK, lol. Any good suggestion?

Now, I really need help on the parts below which includes MB, Memory and Power Supply.

Mother Board: